Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mida6454 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 2, 2008, 04:49 PM
    Spinal Stenosis and bowel movement
    Does anyone who suffer from Lumbar Spinal Stenosis have trouble sitting on the toilet? My legs hurt so tremensdously when I sit to have a bowel movement sometimes that I scream. I am only 41years old, I cannot see tolerating this for much longer but I am afraid of surgical intervention.
    CESElizabeth Posts: 81, Reputation: 7

Sep 2, 2008, 09:14 PM
    I am not a medical professional. I do have lumber spinal stenosis, among other things. Lumber spinal stenosis means stiffing in the lumber spine. What you are describing, I believe is another problem causing the pain in the legs. Radiating pain in the legs from the spine usually means an involvement with spinal roots or compressing nerves. You need to go into your Doctor and tell him what you have posted here. I believe you need an MRI to check for compression of nerves. If this is ocurring it is unlikely it will repair by itself and could result in paralysis. If it is just a herniated disk, there are treatments that do not require surgery. Please go to the Doctor.

Frankie
    BrainSpinalCord Posts: 7, Reputation: 3

Sep 11, 2008, 05:26 PM
    Sharp pains that radiate down your legs most likely signal some sort of nerve complication in your spine. Your doctor should evaluate your spine to see where the nerves are being compromised, and to help you find relief.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

10 day old abandoned kitten has no bowel movement in 2 days [ 1 Answers ]