Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    maryhc Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 14, 2008, 08:49 AM
    Social Security disability payments and garnishments
    Are social security disabiltiy payments subject to garnishments for back spousal support or child support? I know that social security benefits are subject to garnishment but was wondering about disability pymts?

Thanks
    achampio21 Posts: 220, Reputation: 15

Apr 14, 2008, 09:06 AM
    I am not an expert on this but from my understanding (state of Indiana) they can not garnish disability payments. But if you own any property they can put a lien on it and if you ever sell it or die they will get their money. But if the money owed is to the government like back taxes etc they can probably take any freakin money you have. But as for child support, I doubt very seriously that they can take your disability money.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Apr 14, 2008, 09:50 AM
    [QUOTE=maryhc]Are social security disability payments subject to garnishments for back spousal support or child support? I know that social security benefits are subject to garnishment but was wondering about disability pymts?

Yes, SS payments of any sort (including disability) can be garnisheed for back child support - it's Federal Law. But: "Yes it can. But, if you have dependent children they may be entitled to a child's benefit based on your benefit. You should have given them the names, social security number, ages and address of all children when you applied. If you did not, you can add it later, it just delays their receipt of the benefits."

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Social Security disability [ 5 Answers ]