Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rebel92 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 2, 2012, 08:25 AM
    Deceaed fathers joint cd?
    If the cd had both my parents name on it who does the money go to at my fathers death?
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Feb 2, 2012, 08:51 AM
    In states I live and have lived in, it would go to a beneficiary if one is listed. If no beneficiary-it goes to the estate. I am not an expert just speaking of my experiences.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Feb 2, 2012, 11:34 AM
    Usually joint ownership of financial accounts is signified with the notation "JTWROS," which means "Joint Tenants with Rights of Survivorship." This means if one owner dies the other becomes the sole owner of the account. One advantage of this is that it avoids probate. Your mother should go to the bank have the CD retitled in her name alone. To do this she would need to bring along a certified copy of the death certificate.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Feb 2, 2012, 11:36 AM
    It was held in both names? It "goes" to the survivor, outside the Will because it's a joint asset.
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Feb 2, 2012, 12:25 PM
    Sorry, I misread the post.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 3, 2012, 09:54 AM
    Is the mother still alive? I guess I can't understand the question from one of the children if mom is still alive, she would just own it.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Unmarried, fathers wants joint custody. Father did not sign birth certificate? [ 6 Answers ]