Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    maidinbritain Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 3, 2007, 01:30 PM
    School child won't stop crying
    I work as a lunchtime supervisor at a primary school, and have seen many different child behaviors and also managed to resolve many issues.

But this one has me stumped and I don't know how to handle it-a young child in my care, has started reception (1st year at school, she is 4) and we are now into week 3/4 of the term; the problem is as soon as her Mother drops her off at school, she cries; and when I come to look after her at lunchtime she cries solidly for 1 1/2 hours and all I manage to get out of her is "I feel sick" and "I want my Mummy".

I have tried introducing her to her class mates, have tried asking her what she likes to watch on TV, what's her favourite toy? does she like dancing? Singing? Tried getting her to join in her peers games. Shown her around the playground. Tried letting her "help" me do my job. But she just cries and cries, and we are talking real streams of tears.

The teachers at school have just said to ignore her, but I don't know if that is the best policy and just wondered if anyone out there could suggest anything that will help her day be a little happier.

Thanks.
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Oct 3, 2007, 01:42 PM
    It is a period of adjustment for her and it looks like you have been thorough trying new things. If nothing works then I don't know what you can do. As soon as she finds an interest, a playmate, liking the curiculum, there isn't much you can do. Does your mom know this is happening ? Maybe finding out what special treats she likes would help, her mom could help in that regard.
    maidinbritain Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 4, 2007, 02:09 AM