Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nishantarora Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 8, 2007, 06:34 AM
    Tax deducted in US for Shares sold
    Hi
    I am a chartered accountant from India and a resident in India. I held some shares in a company listed on Nasdaq , when I sold the shares the broker deducted some tax from the sale proceeds before remitting it to me in India.
    I wish to know the Taxation treaty between India and US as I need to file Income Tax Return in India.
    Whether I need to deposit the tax again on the short capital gain earned or I can claim some tax already deducted..

Thanks in advance.

Rgds
    Nishant
    The Texas Tax Expert Posts: 310, Reputation: 7

Apr 8, 2007, 07:24 AM
    If you are a resident of India and not the US then you should not be taxed on the gain.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 17, 2007, 10:53 AM
    I disagree. Capital gains can be taxed on non-resident aliens. Now, after the personal exemption is factored in, there may be NO taxes due, but a Form 1040NR with a Schedule D DOES need to be filed. The tax withholding is being done to ensure that happens.
    The Texas Tax Expert Posts: 310, Reputation: 7

Apr 17, 2007, 02:37 PM
    Non-residents would be taxed on capital gains only if they live in the US.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 24, 2007, 09:23 AM
    On reflection, I withdraw my earlier contention that capital gains are subject to taxes. I yield to TTE's greater expertise in such matters.

However, the broker was probably NOT aware of your status as a non-resident alien, so they withheld 30% of the proceeds. You will have to file a Form 1040NR to get the withheld taxes back.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!