Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    WNITRO31580 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 30, 2006, 01:42 PM
    Can I Still Become A Cop If I Have A Deffered Sentence?
    I Had Two Felony Charges, Both Non-violent And Where Deferred, Well Since There Deferred Can I Become Police Officer Since I Wasn't Convicted,I Live In Oklahoma And I Always Wanted To Be A Cop Just Got Stupid 6 Years Ago, I Was Young And You Know How That Goes, I Was Told I Can But Guns,vote And All That Crap But Can I Work In Law Enforcement?any Help Would Be Grateful
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 30, 2006, 03:23 PM
    You should be able to, now remember the arrests will show up on the report the police get to see, so you will have to answer about what happened, and most police applications don't ask if you were convicted, they ask if you had ever been arrested.

Now you will be going up against a lot of other applicants, so odds are, at least to start you will no get on the highest paying, or the one with the best benefits. You may even have to pay your way their a acadmey first, but you should be able to, since the rule is convicted to be able to carry a gun, which is why a convicted felon can't be a officer.
    Bill54321 Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Feb 5, 2007, 12:09 AM