Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    quiness1 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Sep 2, 2011, 02:22 PM
    Please Help, overseas Money/Gift transfer, UK to US..
    I am a US resident/citizen and my friend wishes to gift me 100k. He was a US resident but has been living in the UK for the past 8 years. From my understanding, he never renounced his US citizenship. What is the BEST way to go about receiving this 100k gift? What are the tax implications?

Any and all advice is GREATLY appreciated, Thank you for your time
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Sep 2, 2011, 03:38 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by quiness1 View Post
    What are the tax implications?
    Hello q:

Have him write you a check.. You'll have to pay income taxes on the money.

But, there's more to it than that, isn't there.. He wants YOU to send him some money FIRST, then you can have yours... Am I close?

excon
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Sep 2, 2011, 03:50 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by excon View Post
    Hello q:

Have him write you a check.. You'll have to pay income taxes on the money.

But, there's more to it than that, isn't there.. He wants YOU to send him some money FIRST, then you can have yours... Am I close?

excon
    I don't know why someone would give up there US citizenship voluntarily. If you do give up your rights you forfeit your benefits such as SSI. Coming back to the US every six months may be tedious and I guess from EU expensive, but why would someone do that voluntarily?

Exxy, you are probably right again.

Tick
    odinn7 Posts: 7,691, Reputation: 1547
    Entomology Expert

Sep 2, 2011, 03:58 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by excon View Post
    Hello q:

excon
    I thought this too but then got confused. Are the scammers also being hit by the poor economy and they can't even afford to offer huge fake amounts any more? Usually their amounts are over $250,000.

Sep 2, 2011, 04:45 PM
    Excon,