Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Reed Graham Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 6, 2006, 08:24 PM
    Bathroom Wall Tile - HELP!
    Uh oh! My first attempt at putting tile on a bathroom wall and I may have a problem. Here is the story. I installed Hardibacker board around the tub and green board in the rest of the bath. I taped the seams and used joint compound, then sanded (several times). It looked so good that I taped the seams and corners of the Hardibacker board in the tub area, then used joint compound to smooth everything out.

Here is the (BIG) question. Will I have trouble using thinset (and then putting up tile) on the joint compound? Can the heat generated while taking a shower have any adverse effects on that joint compound behind the shower walls? Should I forget about it and tile the walls? Oh, so many decisions... and being a complete novice, they are all big decisions.

Also, Lowe's sells Thinset premixed in a tub, but also sells some powder thinset that can be mixed with some Flex liquid stuff. (Did I lose any of you with my technical descriptions?? ) Any recommendations would be most welcome.

Thanks for taking the time to help me with this (what seems like a neverending) project. I am having a great time learning, but sure would like to be a bit more confident about the decisions I have to make. Thanks again!
    letmetellu Posts: 3,151, Reputation: 317
    Ultra Member

Dec 6, 2006, 09:56 PM
    I would talk to someone at Home Depot of Lowe's about tile mastic. It is easier to use and I think it holds better.
    skiberger Posts: 562, Reputation: 41

Dec 7, 2006, 06:25 PM
    The hardi only needed to be taped and sealed with the thinset you would be using to stick the tile. There is a possibility the tile will not adhere fully to the joint compound.

If you were to get moisture behind the tiles, the tiles could become loose.
    You can prime the surface of the joint compound and then stick the tiles.