Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Vikramark Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 8, 2010, 06:14 PM
    Filed 1040 A instead of 1040 NR ( student ) --- help!
    Hi,
    I am a graduate student came to US in 2008 August. I earned wages from the Univ since then. I filed ITR for years 2008 and 2009 on line using "TAXACT online"for federal returns and received direct deposit. Recently I realized that I will be categorized under non resident alien and has to fill 1040NR.

Regarding the state taxes, I filed paper tax for state in 2008 and did`nt file for 2009 year

Will it be a problem in the future for H1B or any other issue?

Kindly please advise me how should I proceed next
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Feb 9, 2010, 01:46 AM

On F1/OPT you are exempt from residency for 5-years. You must file non-resident tax return Form 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ and Form 8843. Your income is not subject to FICA taxes. Your U.S. Tax Return: U.S. Tax Filing Requirements for Non-Residents

You filed resident tax return for 2008. You can file amended tax return Form 1040X along with properly done non-resident tax return and Form 8843. Pay the tax due. Attach a letter for Waiver of Penalty giving your reasons this happened.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Wrongly filed using 1040 ez instead of 1040 NR in f1 status [ 12 Answers ]

Sir, I filed my 2007 taxes using e file through turbo tax online. I received the refunds and the problem is later I got to know that a student in f1 visa has to file using 1040 nr which I didn't do. I also got the tax refund/rebate check on may 2 as I used 1040 form for filing my taxes. I am...

Another international student that filed 1040 EZ instead of 1040 NR / NR EZ [ 1 Answers ]