Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mammer Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 4, 2006, 06:42 AM
    Rent increase in the state of New Jersey
    I have been renting a single family home in ocean countny for 4 years every year the landlord reaises the rent 25 dollars. This year with 6 days notice he raised it 200.00 I had no choice but to sign the new lease or vacate. Is this leagl in the state of New Jersey. And if not what can I do about it:mad:
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 4, 2006, 07:05 AM
    At the top of this forum is a couple of "sticky" notes that link to tenant/landlord laws in all the states. You can check the laws there. You want to check on the notice required and the percentage of increase allowed. But, my gut reaction is that its legal.
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Oct 4, 2006, 10:12 AM
    The State Legislature's website has been completely revamped... and unfortunately it's worse than it was before. They do not have a formal set of "landlord-tenant" laws as most states do, but I did some hunting... and for lack of not finding anything to the contrary, I do believe Scott is correct: They can probably charge as much rent as they want.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Home based biz New Jersey [ 1 Answers ]

Hi I own a power washing business on the jersey shore(ocean and monmouth counties).I'm looking for someone who would be interested in marketing my services by phone or putting advertisements on peoples doorknobs.must be clean cut,honest and responsible.you would work on a commission basis.no hard...

Rent Increase - Proper Notice? NY State [ 2 Answers ]