Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    icemarie Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 27, 2008, 01:59 PM
    I became pregnant in Dec, The baby's father told me he would help me and stay with me. Eventually I noticed he was doing nothing to help me. Suddenly he was living with his mother again and following all her commands. Suddenly all our plans were out the window and he began threatening me with taking away my child. Then he broke up with me. Now my fear is because he left me with nothing is how I can make sure he doesn't take my child. First of, I'm a student at college, I haven't been able to get a job do to my pregnancy and anemia, I live with friends of my family, and have no idea of how I can protect myself and my child. What should I do? What are my Rights?
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Apr 27, 2008, 02:04 PM
    You need to make sure you have stability. If you are living different places he can hold that against you so you need your family friends to vouch that you are not in danger of being tossed out if he decides to make that an issue. As long as he can not prove you an unfit mother or unable to care for your baby you should be okay. He can go to court and try to get custody but as long as he can not prove anything against you then the most he should be able to do is get joint custody with visitations.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Apr 27, 2008, 08:16 PM
    As soon as the child is born, you don't put his name on the birth certificate, that way he has to go to court to do anything. But you take him to court, file for custody, and file for child support, so he helps pay for the chlld.
    babieface85 Posts: 332, Reputation: 24

Apr 28, 2008, 09:38 AM
    Don't do drugs, don't drink, and don't smoke around the baby and you should be fine... oh and don't shop lift or do any other crimes