Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nebster01 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 2, 2006, 12:04 PM
    Lost desktop
    I know this has happened to others but I have seen no definitive method of resolution. I have lost my desktop: all icons, the startbutton, the taskbar, the date, and all icons of running programs at the left. I have installed a new windows 2000 that works, but would need to reinstall all my drivers and programs to match what is on it already. I am not a beginner. I can go through the task manager to get to my programs and there is even a directory called desktop with all the icons in it. All attempts to drop a shortcut or rightclick on what should be the desktop are null.
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Feb 2, 2006, 12:22 PM
    This says to me Corrupt profile.
    If you are lucky its very easy to resolve, if not it's a pain.
    If the account that you are using ISN'T the main administrator account then its simple.
    Just log in on the main admin account, control panel > user manager and delete the one that is causing problems.
    Reboot and recreate the account.

If it IS the main admin account then you are in a whole world of hurt.
    You'll need to boot to the install CD and do a repair of the OS.

Hope this helps
    nebster01 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 8, 2006, 03:01 PM
    I have learned a lesson: Never run anything through the administrator account. Too bad I learned it too late.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Desktop display... [ 2 Answers ]

Can I post an image display on my desktop, let say 3 to 4 gif and a backgroud... I don't want to use web because I think its not safe, beside its won't open when I'm not connected to internet... :)

Desktop [ 8 Answers ]