Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Snyperj Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jun 19, 2006, 11:37 AM
    Removing Oil Seal
    I have a Murray 18.5HP mower which is leaking oil badly onto the stack pulley. I am "assuming" this is due to a bad oil seal on the PTO side.
    I have bought the new seal and I am ready to put it on and I am wondering what is the best way to go about it. I have taken the deck off already. Is the next thing to remove the stack pulley itself? How is that done? I have a piece of pipe the same dimension as the seal so I can slide it up the crankshaft to seat the new seal (a suggestion from a coworker). Other than using a "seal puller" what is a common way to get the old seal out?

There doesn't seem to be hardly any room to work or even see under there. How do the "experts" do this? Do they jack it up? Thanks for any advice. I like to somewhat have a plan before I do things I have never done before otherwise the next thing I know it is 4 hours later:D
    thebriggsdude Posts: 1,096, Reputation: 53
    Ultra Member

Jun 19, 2006, 02:01 PM
    Take the engine out, (drain the oil of course) and take the stack pulley off, and the sump to get to it right. Use a pick or something to take the old seal out.

Jun 19, 2006, 05:43 PM
    OK. So is that just basically disconnecting the wiring, removing the engine mounting bolts and lifting the whole thing off? I have never done anything this major so any insight you can give me is much appreciated.

Another question about another problem (the tractor has issues). I can't get the darn flywheel off. I am using a puller. I have tried whackingthe center rod and then evenly tightening the two bolts. I have tried this about 6x and the thing has not budged. The puller bolts are starting to bend and strip. Surely it shouldn't be this diifficult? Can you offer me any wisdom here?

Thanks!
    Ultra Member

Jun 19, 2006, 06:02 PM