Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    thiswaseasy Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 28, 2007, 11:35 AM
    Security Clearance Issues
    Ok I am a college student in engineering. I have two jobs lined up right now, one for the summer and then one starting in the spring, both of which require security clearances. Here's the issue. Last November I shoplifted and was caught, and charged with a class C misdemeanor. I went to court and got deferred adjudication, and I am currently on a probation period ending in June. So I have a few questions, I went to an attorney but he said he wasn't sure so I will ask whoever can help me. First, do you think it will keep me from obtaining a clearance, because if so Im just wasting my time. I haven't and won't be convicted of anything because of the deferrment, but I don't think they care about that. Also Im worried about the recentness of it. My other question is do you think it would be better to skip this first job for the summer and wait until the other job, that way there is more time since the incident when they run the check on me, and that way my probation will be over? Because when they start this check on me for the summer job, my probation may not be over. Any advice you can give me would be great as I am very worried. For reference this is all occurring in Texas.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Mar 28, 2007, 11:53 AM
    Hello this:

Well, of course, I have no idea about the answer. But, I have an opinion.

It seems to me that if your conviction (or lack thereof) will prevent you from getting a clearance, then I don't think letting a few months go by will cure it. It's going to take years, not months.

However, if it WON'T prevent you from getting a clearance, then it won't and I think you should apply for the summer job. Even if you don't get the summer job, you'll learn a lot in the process.