Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    StrongButInLove Posts: 32, Reputation: 2

May 1, 2009, 08:55 AM
    Disrespectful Employee
    Hi everyone,

I am a young manager who currently over sees 9 locations. I hired a new site manager, who is older than myself. Everything was going great, but lately she seems to be very disrespectful. When I ask her to do something, she has a smart remark. Recently she requested overtime, which I was not able to approve. I suggested a method which would allow her to complete the tasks in less time. I also offered to come to the facility and assist her with these tasks to help control labor hours. Her response was shocking:

"Well then I guess you will be doing it, if your worried about hours!! I could possibly have everything ready on friday, but it better not interfear with what i already have to do, that stuff comes first!"

WOW. How do you respond to this? How do I gain respect from people who only see my age?
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

May 1, 2009, 09:20 AM

I hardly know what to say. I come from a time where disrespect wasn't tolerated under any circumstances. I will tell you right now, you will never see her respect and I don't honestly know how to correct this attitude unless you let her go and hire someone more suitable.

Tick
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

May 1, 2009, 01:40 PM

Follow all the rules but fire her as quickly as possible. This will spread to other employees quicker than the swine flu.

May 1, 2009, 04:34 PM

I understand that this person did make a disrespectful comment, however, I feel you two are a little quick at jumping on the " fire" train. I did speak with her today and discussed her comment. I explained that I was not asking her to do anything outside her responsibilities and do not expect a response like that in the future. I guess we will see.
    Krazi Posts: 358, Reputation: 70

May 1, 2009, 04:46 PM