Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Chriza Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 22, 2008, 11:29 PM
    Fixed cost and Variable Cost
    Can someone explain how fixed cost and variable cost differ from each other as if I was 3 years old.
    jazper Posts: 4, Reputation: 2

Jan 23, 2008, 02:15 AM
    Hi

I am an accounting student in the last semester, hold some business diplomas and have many years of business experience. I doubt that a 3 year old wants to know the difference about fixed and variables, but I will try my best to stay on earth.

As the terms already imply cost is fixed (always the same) while the other varies (different depending on the quantity produced).

The variable cost depends on the quantity of units produced in order to change. For instance, in order to run a business it is required to pay: rent, office cleaning, office/sale employees, etc; all these cost do not change regardless how much this business produces, whether the business manufactures 100 or 1mil items. Therefore, in business we call this a FIXED COST.

Now, to manufacture, for instance, a bed it requires bolts, nuts, screws and timber panels and so on. All these items when purchased are considered to be a cost to manufacture a bad. Of course, the more beds the business produces the more bolts, nuts, screws and timber panels are required. Hence, these costs change accordingly to the quantity of goods (beds) produces. As this cost varies depending on the quantity produced, it is called VARIABLE COST.