Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    TERRDEE Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

May 31, 2005, 12:28 PM
    Norton Internet Security 2005 Query
    Hi everone - I am quite new to this so please bear with me. I have been trying to install NIS 2005 on my computer for the past few days with major problems.
    Eventually I have got everything working except for Intrusion Detection which I cannot switch on. I get an error message and the link to symantec advises trying to repair the files (which I have done following their instructions) but this hasn't worked, and the next step is uninstalling and reinstalling NIS 2005 (which includes some scary instructions about backing up the registry etc and I don't really want to do this - and I am on dial up and it takes for ever!)
    I have read some horror stories about NIS 2005 (which I wish I had read before buying it!)
    I am running AVG free version, spysubtract, spybot search and destroy, and adaware - would it be OK just to let Norton run as it is along with these others?(and maybe change to something like Zonealarm when my subscription runs out?) :confused:
    Thanks
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jun 1, 2005, 05:30 AM
    Frankly I would just uninstall Norton and forget it. I'm not a big fan of Norton security utilities. They tend to sink their hooks too deeply into the OS causing more problems then they are worth. I would stick with Zonealarm and the rest instead.

Jun 1, 2005, 10:06 AM
    Thanks for reply, but if I did not uninstall it am I still "covered" with the other programs I have running? :confused:
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jun 1, 2005, 10:59 AM
    Yes you are. You have anti-virus, anti-spyware and a firewall.

Jun 2, 2005, 12:13 AM
    Thanks Scott - that has put my mind at rest - thanks for quick response :p
    fredg Posts: 4,926, Reputation: 674
    Ultra Member

Jun 3, 2005, 04:58 AM