Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Vicki T Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

May 28, 2005, 09:01 AM
    Shower drain in basement
    I bought a one-piece Lasco shower enclosure as part of finishing the basement bathroom. The PVC drain is plumbed in and sticks up about 6" out of the floor. There is also a large diameter black corrugated "hose" around it (I guess for when they poured the concrete floor around it.) I can cut this black hose back to the floor, right? Then what do I need to buy to install the drain? How short do I cut the drain PVC? I hook up the drain first and then put the casting plaster or mortar under it? Do this at the same time? Help, I'm a newbie to shower installation. But I really want to do this myself.
    Thanks to anyone for a reply. Any reply.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

May 28, 2005, 01:16 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Vicki T
    I bought a one-piece Lasco shower enclosure as part of finishing the basement bathroom. The PVC drain is plumbed in and sticks up about 6" out of the floor. There is also a large diameter black corrugated "hose" around it (I guess for when they poured the concrete floor around it.) I can cut this black hose back to the floor, right? Then what do I need to buy to install the drain? How short do I cut the drain PVC? I hook up the drain first and then put the casting plaster or mortar under it? Do this at the same time? Help, I'm a newbie to shower installation. But I really want to do this myself.
    Thanks to anyone for a reply. Any reply.

Hi Vicki,

Cut the drain stubup about 1 1/2" up into the drain, (but not over the top). Cut the hose back to floor level or simply rerove it. It's just there to create space around the stubup in case you have to countersink a drain hookup.