Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    girl_6s Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 6, 2007, 11:14 AM
    Wireless internet
    I have a laptop and want to hook it up to wireless internet but I have never done that before and unsure as to how to do it. What do I need and what type of provider do I look for. I want it so that when I travel I can use it for my schooling
    Thank you,
    Sherry
    jeremy4719 Posts: 136, Reputation: 4

Jun 25, 2007, 06:45 PM
    Just look for a Sprint Wireless plan.. Tell them what you want it for... Make sure you ask all the questions you can think of. Sprint is usually the best for road travel wireless if you are in bigger cities.
    mathboy15 Posts: 15, Reputation: 1

Jul 10, 2008, 09:06 AM
    The laptop might already have a inbuilt wireless connection but if it hasn't then you need to buy a wireless stick.
    chuckhole Posts: 850, Reputation: 45

Jul 10, 2008, 11:18 PM
    There are two types of wireless access - wireless being cellular phone service and wireless being a standard network connection without wires. Cellular connections generally run about $80 a month for unlimited access. It is limited to your cellular signal and is hindered in mountainous, heavily wooded and low population areas. Wireless networking is limited to an ISP connection and the distance is not in miles like cellular but about 300 feet.

Depending on how much travel you do, you need to get a list of all of the free and low cost hot spots in the places you go to. Check out the book stores, coffee shops, hamburger joints and such (I am not going to mention names but they have the initials Barns and Noble, Starbucks and McDonalds).

If you are going to travel and have to use hotel, airline or other paid hotspots that can carry a high price - as much as $30 a day - then check into a service called iPass. It is a prepaid service that gives you lower cost, unified billing access to over 170,000 dialup and broadband access points all over the world.