Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    connectuwright Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

May 29, 2007, 03:42 PM
    Government contracted work
    I was hired by a union contractor to do some work out of state, out of town and out of the country, all these jobs were on the military base, a government contract. Am I supposed to get prevailing wage rate? I'm a comm and system installer, very experienced, based out of California. Do you know what I should be getting paid an hour?
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

May 29, 2007, 04:06 PM
    Whatever your contract calls for that you signed that's what you get paid. There are no negotiations between you and the contractor. The company and union have already agreed to the wage scale.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

May 29, 2007, 06:08 PM
    There are rules on companies doing contract work, to pay the listed prevailing wage for that specific work and job descriptions.

I do understand, but am not aware of what different exemptions their may be for small or minority owned businesses, for those not doing long term contracts and the such.

But normally as a member of a union if you have a question about this, you would speak to your union rep, who would check on this,
    connectuwright Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

May 29, 2007, 11:04 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by talaniman
    Whatever your contract calls for that you signed thats what you get paid. There are no negotiations between you and the contractor. The company and union have already agreed to the wage scale.
    The problem is, I'm not in the union yet.
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

May 30, 2007, 04:34 AM