Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Lowtax4eva Posts: 2,467, Reputation: 190
    Ultra Member

May 25, 2007, 10:19 AM
    Sympathy letter etiquette?
    Just wondering if anyone has any tips on what to say in a card/email to a friend who just lost his dad (were both in our 20's). I'm thinking like "were here if you want to talk or need anything" but anything else? I've never written anything like this before

I would call but I have no idea where he might be, his parents are separated and he lived with his dad and I don't have his moms home number and he doesn't have a cell.
    LadyB Posts: 320, Reputation: 42

May 25, 2007, 10:47 AM
    I suggest a statement of condolence "I am so sorry for your loss", some kind of memorial statement "your dad always made me laugh" or "I know he was such a great dad to you" or whatever is appropriate, then a commitment to help in whatever way you can "Please call me day or night on my cell phone if you need to talk" .

Simple but sincere is always best in these situations.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

May 26, 2007, 12:04 AM
    In addition to the good answer above, I would like to add the following.

You say what you want to from your heart. It is the chance to say it for the event that has happened. The event is unique. You will not get the chance or opportunity for this particular event again. So, it's best not to let these opportunities pass you by.

Other people who you know will pass from this earth. Each time that it happens it is a unique event because it is about a different person.

No matter what you write or say will be inappropriate if you write from your heart and show that you care. It will show that you care and that you are there for the person left behind if they need you.