Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MrsRomero Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 22, 2007, 05:25 AM
    Military Wedding
    Hi all,
    I am planning to have a military wedding sometime next year in the fall. My husband and I got married last year June and due to his deployment we decided to hold off on the actual wedding itself. Now he is deployed and when he returns we would like to have a wedding I am new to military and even though he was married previous he did not have a wedding. I do not know how to start. My question is... How do you plan a military wedding when only the groom is in the Armed force. No one in his family or my family is. The wedding will take place in the East coast and we live in TX I would like to have the whole military theme with the saber and all. Can it still happen without having grooms men in the military? I would like to make sure we follow the rules and regulation of the Armed Forces... Can anyone give me an Idea how to maintain a military theme... Thanks for any suggestions..
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

May 22, 2007, 05:40 AM
    Seeing as your groom is in the military, contacting his chaplin is all you have to do to find out what you need and protocol to follow.
    prettyNpink3795 Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Jun 5, 2007, 07:19 PM
    Wow, I feel like I'm reading my own life story. My husband and I got married (eloped?) last October, but haven't had the ceremony yet. He has also been married once before, and I have not. We are planning a military wedding, and the best advice I've found so far is from this webpage: United States Military Wedding Traditions - WeddingDetails.com

Also, I don't know what branch your husband is in, but you should just have to contact the local chapter of whatever branch he is from. My husband is Marine, and there is a local recruiting station that we will be working with.