Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    groundjordan Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

May 1, 2005, 05:27 PM
    Finish Sanding Drywall Installation
    I have a small bathroom and a kitchen alcove I'm getting ready to slop compound on the drywall. Trying to save my arms and back- does anyone have a suggestion for using a small power sander? Type (vibration, belt), any tips, etc... Finish look will be slop and go, so the finish coat will just need to be smoothed over.
    Thanks
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

May 1, 2005, 06:01 PM
    Lacking the art of getting the mud on smoothly, I have a lot of experience sanding it, a lot. Forget the power sander. Just use coarse, 60 grit, paper, maybe a wood block and hand sand it. Once I go through a dozen apply, dry, sand cycles, it is good enough to roll a latex on and the sand scratches don't show.

Mud sands quickly with the coarse paper. Just hang in there until it is smooth. It is much easier to sand the mud smooth before painting it than after. Shine a bright light, the halogen shop lights work great, parallel to the wall. Any defects will show up. Put another coat on, let it dry, and sand.
    murley Posts: 24, Reputation: 1

May 3, 2005, 10:35 AM
    Sanding...
    I had someone tell me that you can use a wet sponge to smooth out the joints instead of sanding? Anyone else ever heard of that?
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

May 3, 2005, 01:16 PM
    I have heard of it too, but never remember to try it. Well worth trying. Shouldn't make all the dust sanding does. Sometimes you can scrape the worst of it off with a sharp, stiff putty knife.
    glavine Posts: 895, Reputation: 87

Jun 8, 2007, 08:31 PM
    Let Me Tell You The Best Way To Save Your Back And Arms.
    Just Learn How To Slop Mudd.