Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Elisabeth Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Apr 17, 2005, 10:04 PM
    Guaranteed Equity Index Annuity
    In seminars for the elderly the presenters recommend to put all of our assets in a 'Guaranteed Equity Index Annuity' by Allianz, telling us that the principal is safe and guaranteed forever PLUS if the market is gaining, one will increase one's principal.
    I would appreciate anyone's opinion, sharing perhaps experiences with such retirement investment tool. So far I was unable to find objective literatur on this subject.
    Thank you in advance.
    With friendly regards, E.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

May 2, 2005, 07:25 AM
    Elisabeth:

This is an annuity, and, almost without exception, annuities are a bad idea for all concerned except for those who make huge commissions selling them.

In addition to being a tax professional, I am a financial planner. I have reviewed dozens of annuities for clients, and, except for one case, have always found them to be bad deals in that I could set them up in investments that would have yielded the same return without the fees and overhead that every annuitiy has.

RUN away from this deal as fast as possible. At the very least, call a fee-only financial planner in your area and ask him/her to review the plan. The planner will probably charge a $100-$300 consulting fee, but it could save you thousands of dollars in the long-run.
    Annuity Owner Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 27, 2005, 05:13 PM
    Annuities