Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mani_great Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 14, 2005, 12:21 PM
    State tax filing for F1 visa holder - spouse has no ITIN/SSN
    Hello,

I am a student on an F-1 visa , and have a wife on an F-2 dependent visa. I can file the federal tax forms without an ITIN for my wife as I will be completing a W7 to apply for an ITIN. How can I claim my wife on any of the state tax forms, as they ask for the spouse's ITIN?

Thanks in advance for your time and consideration.

Mani
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 14, 2005, 12:49 PM
    Mani:

I have seen cases where people apply for the spouse's ITIN file simultaneously by attaching the tax return to the W-7, expecting the IRS officials to fill-in the ITIN and file the return. Logically, tat makes sense.

However, for state returns, you need to file an extension (make a payment if taxes are owed) and simply wait for the ITIN to be issued before filing. The state tax officials will not coordinate with the IRS and get the ITIN when it is issued.

Apr 14, 2005, 12:59 PM
    Thanks. The state forms actually ask for the SSN and not even the ITIN.

I guess the other option is to file without claiming an exemption? Also, I had an internship at CA, but my wife was not present with me there (she came into the US only in december). So, can I claim an exemption in that form too?

I really appreciate your reply.

Thank you very much

Mani
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 14, 2005, 09:21 PM
    Mani:

For tax purposes, the SSN and ITIN are the same thing on any tax return.

Yes, you can claim your spouse in California as well.

I still recommend your file an extension and wait for the ITIN to be issued.

Apr 15, 2005, 05:52 AM
    Thanks Atlanta_great.