Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    BRD4life Posts: 4, Reputation: 0

May 5, 2007, 05:44 PM
    Rabbit had baby... guinea pig problems
    I know u might say your not supposed to keep guinea pigs with rabbits but we do and they get along.
    My rabbit had babies and we didn't know for a little and once we noticed 2 were dead 2 were badly injured(now dead) and one had a few scratches and a missing ear. OK now there's 2 questions's. Answer either.
    1. the mother keeps kicking the baby up in the air when we try to let her feed the baby( :mad: ) (we still feed it ourselves sometimes)how do we get the mother to stop this?
    2. we think the missing ear might be infected how do we help this?
    kashumz Posts: 137, Reputation: 4

May 5, 2007, 06:16 PM
    It sounds like the mother rabbit has rejected her babies.

Please excuse me if I'm wrong, I'm not an expert.

I don't know if this works with rabbits too, but I know that with hamsters, if you touch their babies, the hamster mummy believes her baby has been "contaminated" and actually eats her baby, thinking it will not survive because it's been touched by a human.

This might be the same way with your rabbit. Since you've tried feeding the babies, mommy might think her babies are contaminated too, and she's killing them because she doesn't think they'll survive.

You really shouldn't keep a guinea pig and a rabbit together. There are many reasons you shouldn't allow a guinea pig and a rabbit to live together or even have their free range time together. Rabbits have very strong, powerful back legs and even a small rabbit could really hurt a guinea pig or even kill a guinea pig. You may think that your bunny likes your guinea pig and wouldn't hurt them, but rabbits only have to get excited and they can easily kick out by accident.

As far as the infection, you can clean it out with peroxide, but the wound definitely need to get it closed up. If the infection is severe, take your bunny to the vet.