Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    asigi Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 3, 2007, 06:22 AM
    Dissertation topics
    I am studying masters of art in human resource management and will like to write concerning retention issues. Could you pleasr give some guidelines and possible issues regarding such subject matter?
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

May 3, 2007, 08:05 AM
    It is becoming more common for companies to require employees to sign a penalty agreement if they leave their position within a certain number of years. For example, a friend of mine is a pilot and will soon be trained for a newer, larger aircraft. This will result in a higher salary but he must sign a $25,000 bond that comes due if he leaves within 5 years. You might consider researching how often these binds are enforced and how many end up in the courtroom. Just a thought.
    hansda Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 2, 2009, 03:42 PM

Can I have dissertation topic in HR in Outsourcing?
    Wildsporty Posts: 445, Reputation: 38

Mar 3, 2009, 08:11 AM

Hansda you need to start a new question with your request.

Asigi,

Retention issues is one of Human Resources challenges.

It actually starts with recruiting and hiring.

You need to hire the right person to avoid turnover and to retain good employees. If the wrong person is hired for the job no amount of incentive or training will change the fact that the wrong person is in the position.

So a good HR director must learn to spot and develop people who fit with the job description and company culture. This is very important. If the person can do the job but does not fit with the company culture than they will not be able to work with other employees in a smooth and productive manner.