Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    vikramanilrao Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 27, 2005, 08:05 PM
    Standard Deduction Vs itemized Deduction
    Hi,

I am an Indian citizen. I as on a F1 status till Oct 18th 2004 and then I got converted to a H1B on Oct 18th 2004. I do not pass the standard presence test. Correct me if I am wrong, but I guess I have been able to determine that I am a Non Resident Alien and not a dual-status nonresident alien based on the previous threads. So, Now the question is do I fill 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ. My question is should I file for standard deduction or for itemized deduction or both or do I have a option. I also understand that Indian Students have a special Tax Treaty with US.
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Mar 27, 2005, 09:09 PM
    I would at least look at the 1040NR at http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/. Also the instructions for itemizing deductions. The one thing right about our insane income tax system is the relatively high standard deduction. For many people, the standard deduction is high enough that they are better off taking the standard deduction than itemizing. You are allowed to take which ever means the LOWER taxes. Go through the big things, state and local income tax, real estate taxes and interest if you own real estate, medical expenses, etc. You may also be able to deduct any taxes you have to pay to India. If you aren't close or above the standard deduction from a few bigger items, you would be better off forgetting it and filling the 1040NR EZ. If you have to fill out half the 1040 to decide if you you want to itemize, finish it. I have filed it and taken the standard deduction for years. The forms are much the same except the long form has more options.
    vikramanilrao Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 28, 2005, 06:39 AM
    Standard Deduction Vs Itemized deduction.