Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    loulou23 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 25, 2007, 12:50 PM
    D&c procedure after miscarriage
    Hello my name is louise this is my first time using this site as I have been searching for an answer which I cannot find hence that's why I'm here.Tuesday morning I got a refferal to the hospital to have a scan as I am 10 weeks pregnant but started to have a lot of cramping and brown discharge.So doc sent me to hospital only to find that my poor baby only reached 7 weeks.As I haven't had a lot of blood until tonight they want me to have a d&c procedure to remove the tissue etc.I am very worried about this as I have never been in hospital before and was wondering if there is any women out there that could enlighten me as to there experience of miscarriage to see how much blood loss is normal and what does the tissue look like if I were to pass it naturally before my op. Thanks lou
    pickerill Posts: 46, Reputation: 1

Apr 25, 2007, 12:55 PM
    Unfortunately I have no answer to your question but I would like to say how sorry I am to hear your news and I hope everything goes OK.
    loulou23 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 25, 2007, 12:57 PM
    Thank you
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Apr 25, 2007, 01:12 PM
    D&C is a procedure to clean out your uterus after an unfortunate miscarriage. I had one many years ago and it was an in one day out same day procedure. Blood loss was no more then a normal period and I was told not to do any heavy lifting, running, or exercise for a few weeks after or bleeding would be abnormal.

When you ask about 'tissue', I assume you mean will you see anything that resembles a fetus, no you won't, it is only clots at that point. It is good you are having this procedure to avoid any infection and to make sure your menstruation cycle gets back on track.
    kso Posts: 19, Reputation: 2

Apr 26, 2007, 02:44 AM