Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Salamander86 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Nov 25, 2020, 01:51 AM
    How do you deal with a family that seems to hate you?
    Hi there!,

I don't know where to start really.. my boyfriend and I have been together for a year and a half and I have never felt so rejected by a family in my history of dating. To be honest, I've been very close with both of my ex's families. A few months in to dating, my boyfriend's brother had a new baby. Both sides of the family, friends, etc. were invited but I was specifically not invited. He had wanted to bring me and I took the day off for it but his sister in law sent several texts to him telling him I wasn't welcome because I was a stranger so I stayed home while he went. I thought okay, she just had a baby and I'm new in his life, sure. My mom passed away a few months later and his sister in law sent condolences my boyfriend showed me the text so I thought all was well. At this point I hadn't really met his family since they do not do a single thing. They do not celebrate their sons birthdays, they don't do holidays, and prefer to sit in their home and watch tv.. seriously. They don't do anything. Come November I was finally invited to an event, his niece's baptism, where I had the chance to meet the family formally and some family friends. No one spoke to me except my boyfriend's friends. I tried to pipe up in conversation, where I had the chance to get some words in and exchange with his dad, otherwise they spoke Spanish the entire time which I don't understand. When I got drinks for a few of us I brought his parent's drinks as well, I do tend to be rather shy initially but I did make an effort where I could to talk to anyone we were around. I get that the brother and sister in law were busy, they were hosting an event so I didn't expect to talk to then much but even when I said thank you for having me to his brother when we were leaving and that it was nice to finally meet him.. I loo