Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dwashbur Posts: 1,456, Reputation: 175
    Ultra Member

Mar 4, 2020, 09:24 AM
    It's Happening At Last!
    Oh my word, it's happening!

For the past few years I've had a project of reading through the Greek New Testament. Not for exegesis, but just reading it like a book. (I've been told that's what it is!) The goal is reading comprehension and beyond.

It's happening. The past several days, I've noticed that when I'm reading, I'm not translating in my head any more. I'm THINKING IN GREEK!!!! I don't hear an English narrative in my head as I read, I hear a Greek one. This is what I've been striving for, for close to 4 years. Oh, I started learning Greek when I was 17. But it was always with a view to breaking down individual words, grammatical constructions, and all that technical stuff. I had never just sat down and *read* it.

Hey, Mikey! I like it!!!!!

(I know it's not a question, but I had to share my excitement.)
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Mar 4, 2020, 09:42 AM
    Congratulations! Being able to think in a language without doing the gymnastics of mentally translating it means you have gained a wondrous ability. My dad was born to German-speaking parents who also had learned English, so he grew up bilingual. If I were granted one wish, it would be that I could understand and speak any language that I heard when out and about.
    jlisenbe Posts: 5,019, Reputation: 157
    Uber Member

Mar 4, 2020, 07:14 PM
    I recall listening to a language expert one time who said that she believed she really had a language down pat when she had her first dream in that language. Well done, DW.
    dwashbur Posts: 1,456, Reputation: 175
    Ultra Member

Mar 6, 2020, 09:37 AM
    A friend back in Bible college said he heard you've really got the language down when you can make puns in it. I'm not to that point yet, but working on it.
    WG, I share your wish!