Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Vacuum7 Posts: 47, Reputation: 2

Aug 31, 2019, 06:36 PM
    Missing 411
    Has anyone on this site ever heard of a book called MISSING 411, authored by Mr. David Paulides?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Aug 31, 2019, 06:48 PM
    Paulides? Missing 411 is a series of eight books, each with its own subtitle.

Aug 31, 2019, 07:00 PM
    WG: Yes, I know, but have you read any of them, by chance? Also, thank you for the correction on the spelling of his name!

BTW: I love your WG acronym for Wondergirl!
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Aug 31, 2019, 07:16 PM
    No, I haven't read any. According to summaries and reviews, the author tries to make the cases of missing persons more mysterious than they probably are.

Since I'm a librarian, I had chosen Wondergirl as my screen name here because that's what I did all day at work -- wondered about where certain books had disappeared to, wondered why patrons asked such difficult questions (did they lie in bed at night, thinking them up?), and wondered how did Melvil Dewey happen to come up with the cataloging system named after him. I also wondered if I would get the full fifteen minutes for my afternoon coffee break and wondered if Jerry, our library homeless guy, had enough funds for dinner.

So I'm WG and you're V7! There might be a rap song in that. :)

Aug 31, 2019, 08:02 PM
    WG: You might be right on that one about our acronyms!

Don't under-sale this Paulides author: He has well documented cases of missing people from all over. He started with the National Parks Service and U.S. National Parks: that is where the Missing 411 originated in that he found 411 cases of missing people in our National Parks System....any way you cut it, that is a ton of people! He also found evidence of the N.P.S. attempting to stymie his investigation of the disappearances. He makes some compelling points!