Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nitinr1 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 20, 2005, 07:03 PM
    1099 Misc question
    Hi,
    I worked as an Independent Contractor for a few months and received a 1099 Misc for the same. As I was going through the instructions for Schedule C-EZ, it said I need to fill the form if I am continuing the business.. which I am not. So should I include the amount in 1099 MISC in Other Income section of 1040 NR. And if yes, what should be the activity that I must specify?
    Thanks in advance.
    Nitin
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 21, 2005, 08:22 AM
    nitinr1:

Do not use the "Other Income" (Line 21 on Form 1040NR) for the Form 1099-MISC income if the income is listed in Block 7 (Nonemployee Compensation) of the Form 1099-MISC. If Block 7 is used, you must list the income on a Schedule C/C-EZ.

You can list it in "Other Income" only if the income is listed in Block 3 (Other Income ) of the Form 1099-MISC.
    rabihm7 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 30, 2005, 04:12 PM
    But
    But, he is Non Resident alien. Is he required to report the 1099-MISC Nonemployee Compensations for tax purposes?
    Please refer to " F1 to H1B Dual Status Alien Tax Question" thread.

Robbie,
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 31, 2005, 08:55 AM
    Robbie:

I understand that he is a nonresident alien. Income earned as an independent contractor has to be reported on Schedule C/C-EZ whether he is a resident alien, nonresident alien or U.S. citizen.

The Schedule C/C-EZ is used to report self-employment income. It also allows the taxpayer to claim certain expenses to reduce the taxable income reported on the Schedule C.

The bottom-line results of the Schedule C/C-EZ would be reported on Form 1040NR on line 13. If he is liable for self-employment taxes, the results would also be transferred to Schedule SE to allow for computation of self-employment taxes.
    rabihm7 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1