Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    collegian Posts: 57, Reputation: 1

Mar 23, 2019, 04:21 PM
    KS State tax - other state's (MO) adjusted source income?
    Hello,

I am trying to file my KS taxes for 2018. I was a part year resident and moved to MO. My income source was only from MO all through the year.

On Schedule-S, Part B I'm assuming that KS source of income is the KS state wages, tips reported on W-2. Is that correct?

Now, while filing the credits for taxes paid to other states, I'm being asked, Other states' adjusted source income - Income derived from other state and included in Kansas Adjusted Gross Income (KAGI). Is this the same as MO adjusted gross income or is this the same as KS state wages, tips reported on W-2?

Thanks
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 23, 2019, 07:33 PM
    Collegian,

So you lived in Kansas, then moved to Missouri, but worked in Kansas the entire year.

You pay taxes to Kansas for the entire year because you WORKED in Kansas the entire year. Kansas has the right to tax all income earned within state borders.

You get NO credit for taxes paid to Missouri because you paid those Missouri taxes ONLY while your lived in Missouri.

You DO get to claim a credit on the MISSOURI return for the taxes paid to Kansas while you lived in Missouri. You will have to estimate how much Kansas taxes you paid while you lived in Missouri.

ATE

Mar 23, 2019, 08:15 PM
    I worked in Missouri all year, only lived in Kansas for part year and then moved to Missouri.
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 23, 2019, 08:42 PM
    Okay, then you complete the Missouri return, paying on all of your income since it was earned in Missouri.

Then file as a part-year resident of Kansas, requesting a credit for Missouri taxes paid while you lived in Kansas.

Mar 23, 2019, 10:28 PM
    Yeah, I finished the Missouri return but had those questions regarding the Kansas return. Thanks!
    Senior Tax Expert