Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Chewie555 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 2, 2019, 10:46 PM
    How do I speak fluent English without sounding like I’m “trying too hard”?
    Hi. I’m from Hong Kong and I’m still learning English.

There’s a problem when I’m trying to speak English is I want to be more fluent and I don’t really like my Hong Kong accent,people say accent don’t matter but to me the accent sound bad because it’s very choppy and not fluent,that’s the thing about my accent I hate.It’s not the accent itself,is the choppiness of it.

The actually problem for me is when Hong Kong people trying to sound fluent,even if we ACTUALLY sound fluent and nice.It’s just kind of weird that fluent English coming out of a person with a asian face,it feel like that we are be like “Oh my English is so fluent I sound like a native speaker” which is annoying to other Hong Kong people.

So the only way to avoid this is we speak with a Hong Kong accent ON PURPOSE but I just hate it.

Is that a way to speak fluent English as natural as possible and don’t sound “forced”?

Thank you for answering my question.
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

Mar 3, 2019, 06:00 AM
    Relax, even people who were born speaking English have accents and far from fluent.
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Mar 3, 2019, 09:47 AM
    You should hear me when I speak Latin -- or even my ancestors' language of German! When I was in a Chicago-area hospital last year, I heard so many delightful accents from all over the world.

For smoother speaking, frequently talk with a friend, and read out loud to each other from English storybooks or novels. Do you know a native English speaker who will work on this with you?

Like Tal said, even native Americans have accents, depending on where they're from in this country. (Tal is from a western region and doesn't pronounce words like I do who is from the eastern part of the US.)