Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cauliflower Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jan 15, 2019, 09:17 PM
    I'm really depressed and not succeeding in school.. help?
    Hi everyone! I have never done one of these forums before but I hope I will get the help I desperately need. Let me first introduce myself. I am turning 19 this year and have graduated from high school just last year and plan to hopefully start college later this year. I have been dealing with depression for almost 2 years now and I also deal with anxiety (mostly social anxiety) for most of my life.

My senior year of high school was definitely one of the worst years of my life. I was struggling with depression and because of that, my grades were really bad and I barely passed all my classes. When I say "barely pass" I mean literal 50's on my report card. I was so worried (and I still am) that no college would accept me because of my ridiculously bad grades.

Before my depression, I was never a 50's student. I was more of an 80's student. I'm not sure exactly what caused my depression but my parents did separate 2 years ago so now I live with just my mom (I'm an only child). My mom has no job and we are only able to afford to rent a basement that charges us $600 a month. I would say, it could also be the environment I'm living in that could have psychologically triggered my depression. The place is always dark no matter how sunny it is outside, we don't have many of them but our windows are the size of a textbook, the air isn't always fresh, and there's probably mold growing everywhere. I know it's definitely not the best place to live but it's the only place we can afford.