Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    windowsyl Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 21, 2018, 02:23 AM
    Should we plan to marry early so we can stay in the same country?
    Okay guys, sorry this is about to get really complex:

I'm a student at one of the top 10 universities in the US, and will be graduating in Jan. 2020. My boyfriend (of one year) attends school with me, and will be graduating in May 2020. As we begin planning our future post-grad and applying, we find ourselves in a unique situation with some issues I've had trouble googling advice on.

First and foremost, he is an international student from Brazil here on an education visa. We recently were informed that his chances of finding a company who's willing and able to procure one of the limited H-1B visas available in the US each year are slim to none. Thus, we find ourselves pursuing alternate options.

We've been living together basically the entirety of our time together. In addition to sharing a lease for the past 7 months, we survived a 3 month stint prior, in which we moved between hotels/AirBNBs weekly, as well as an entire summer living together in a single, cramped Candlewood Suites' room in the fairly distant suburbs of Chicago with one car and zero friends/connections in the state. Thus, we've already tackled the majority of the relationship-threatening key issues that couples face during the transition to life together post-grad: navigating different income levels and drastically different spending habits, managing a home between our equally-demanding course-loads, dealing with my ADHD and resulting disorganization in distinct juxtaposition to his OCD-like tendencies and inability to work in a messy environment, etc.