Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    vespers Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 13, 2018, 09:03 PM
    Theft Under $5,000 in Ontario, Canada - Diversion?
    Last month, I was charged with Theft Under $5,000. It's something I've never done before, and I'll never do again. One day when I was walking home, I found a clutch purse in a parking lot. Impulsively, I took the money out of the purse and left it, not realizing that I was caught on camera and the police were able to track me down a couple of weeks later.I had been looking for a job for over a year, and was almost broke after paying my last property tax bill - I've been depressed for a very long time and I have trouble with insomnia that my doctor won't help me with. I felt like I was on the brink of losing my home if I couldn't continue to make the payments, so whatever reason, taking the money felt like it would help, but of course I felt extreme remorse as soon as I got home.I have no history at all of theft, and this would be my first such offence for this kind of thing. However, I was charged with DUI a few years ago, but went to court and got things reduced to careless driving on a plea down. Given that I have this in my history, will this badly affect my chances for being offered diversion? What could I possibly expect?The thing about this is the day after the incident, I had an interview at a well-known university and was offered a job which I gladly accepted. I have started taking stress management workshops offered by my regional government, and things were finally starting to look up again. I was finally getting the help that I've been trying to get for months.

Check out some similar questions!

Theft under $5000 in ontario, canada [ 6 Answers ]