Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Cynder Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 24, 2018, 07:49 PM
    DIY Generator
    I am doing a science project where I create energy using motors. I don't have access to big wind turbines so I went out and bought a whole bunch of hair dryers. I think they are DC motors but I'm not sure. I would like to power a big light. My thought was that I could line them all up in a row and turn them with a gear system to create the power to send to the big light. I have gone about this several ways with no success. Here are my main questions: How many motors would I need to greater enough power to light up the bigger light? What circuitry do I need to have to make the energy? Are these even the right motors to do what I'm trying to do? Just ask for more specifics if needed. I am quite new at this so I would love step by step help.
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Apr 24, 2018, 07:55 PM
    Try it with DC motors...
    Appzalien Posts: 540, Reputation: 57

May 3, 2018, 10:15 AM
    Not all types of motors can create electricity when turned manually. I would suggest to you to do a search for types of DC motors that can generate electricity when turned. Motors work through electricity and magnetism. Some motors actually have magnets in them, I suspect those are the ones that can generate. Motors whose magnetism is created when power is applied probably can not. Motors that have magnets inside, will allow you to feel the force of the magnets on the armature as you turn it by hand. If you can't feel that magnetic indentation when turning the armature I doubt it can generate. How about a bicycle head lamp generator.
    cdad Posts: 12,700, Reputation: 1438
    Internet Research Expert

May 13, 2018, 08:13 AM