Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aerotops Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 14, 2005, 04:27 PM
    Tax Problem: Wrong form
    Hi,
    I have a tax question. I am a student on an F1 visa here. I have filed for taxes 2 times now. My uncle basically did my taxes for me and both times he filled out the 1040 instead of 1040 NR. Just this semester I came to know about the 1040 NR thing. Can anyone tell me how to rectify this situation, what all to rectify and any potential problems I can have due to this.
    Thanks,
    aerotops.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 15, 2005, 06:48 AM
    Aerotops:

Aerotops:

Well, the first thing you need to do is get the 2002 and 2003 version of Form 1040NR and work up your tax returns to see if you owe any additional taxes.

If not, then a simple amended return (Form 1040X) with Form 1040NR attached for each year should get you straight with the IRS. Any competent tax professional should be able to handle that for you.

If more taxes are owed, you have to decide whether you want to bring attention to yourself on this matter. Apparently, the SSN or ITIN that you used did not identify you as a non-resident alien and the IRS (and your local state) think everything everything is just fine with you. If your status is changing this year to that of a resident alien, then maybe it would be best to just lay low, file your taxes as a resident alien, and see if the IRS comes calling. More than likely, In my opinion, that will not happen, assuming there is nothing in your records that specifically identified you as a non-resident alien.
    aerotops Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 20, 2005, 12:08 AM
    Hi
    Thanks for the reply. I have been trying some info on it but frankly, I have not been able to. Also, I don't think I have a copy of my 2002 Tax forms. I have the 2003 though. Is there any way I can get a copy of my 2002 forms from the IRS??