Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    djenka Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 13, 2005, 10:53 PM
    How to make support wall for garden soil using 4x4 posts
    Hi,
    I have really small garden that is on the 45 degree angle. Since I want to level it by putting more soil I would first need to build "support" wall from 4x4 (I think it's 4x4) posts.
    Does anybody have an idea how to make the wall (4x4) solid in order not to fall down from soil presuure?
    Maybe there was easier way to ask but I am new at this and I hope you understand what I need ;-)

Thank you!
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Mar 14, 2005, 08:23 AM
    The higher you go, the sturdier it need to be. If you are not going too high, you maybe able to use 8' landscaping timbers as posts. They have almost as much wood as a 4x4, but cost about half as much. I would put a post every 4' sunk 3' into the ground. Tie the ends to 3' posts sunk all the way in at the top.

Be sure and make the wall as tight as possible. Otherwise dirt will continually wash out, and you will need to add more. You can pack clay subsoil from the top part against the wood.
    djenka Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 17, 2005, 06:55 PM
    @labman,
    Thank you, you are my big helper but I want to ask you one more thing.
    I've seen that people are making the support walls without any vertical posts, the only stuff what you can see is horizontal posts (wall). How?
    The reason I'm asking this is it's going to look a little bit ugly from the deck.
    I was thinking if I can make it without vertical ones, just "flat" wall, I'd paint it or decorate it somehow.

Thanks!
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Mar 17, 2005, 08:56 PM