Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    JEDALE Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 4, 2017, 05:29 AM
    How much Helium can a 40 liter canister provide?
    Hi everyone, I am working on an entrepreneurial project but I have very little scientific knowledge. (Once I receive venture start-up capital I will be able to employ a science and tech team!) I am working on innovative designs which use weather balloon technology, but I am struggling to calculate how much helium I can get from a specific tank for my applications. The canisters I am looking to purchase are 40 liters (which I assume refers to the compressed capacity - not the number of liters which flow out of the nozzle in decompressed form). According to the label - the canister pressure (at least that is what I think it is) reads 1,5 kg // 20 MPa @ 20 degrees Celsius The flow rate for my proof of concept testing is 15 liters of Helium (flowing - uncompressed Helium) per minute. At that flow rate, how long will a 40 liter tank last at the indicated pressure? I live overseas and my colleagues in the UK tell me that I need to purchase 14.9 cu ft (cubic feet) tanks which have 420 liters of Helium (which I assume means uncompressed Helium). If you do a search for "balloon time jumbo helium tank, you will see the exact size and type of canister I am looking for and it fills up to 50 9 inch latex balloons. However, when I do a search for Helium suppliers over here - some industrial suppliers have these massive 70 kg cylinders which are well over five feet tall and they only have around 50 liters of Helium per cylinder! Sorry if my question sounds silly, but am I missing something here? Perhaps some companies report on uncompressed liter for capacity and others report in the compressed liters? Can anyone assist?
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Jul 5, 2017, 07:04 AM