Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ACoppersmith Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 18, 2017, 10:17 AM
    When is it okay to leave home for college?
    I am currently a junior in HS, but starting my sophomore year in college through dual enrollment in the fall. I am 16, but will be 17 in October. I live in Colorado, and as soon as I graduate next May, I want to head to Hawaii to continue my education, but my parents are saying I shouldn't go because I'll be too young, even though I'll turn 18 a month into the semester. I am a straight A student with a 3.8 GPA, in many honor societies through the HS and the college. My home life isn't so great, so I don't know if just leaving would put me in a bad spot with my parents, thoughts?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

May 18, 2017, 10:21 AM
    Have you been accepted by a college in Hawaii? (Why Hawaii, by the way?)
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

May 18, 2017, 10:44 AM
    Scholarships? Jobs lined up? Will your parents support you? You're a smart cookie, tell us your plans. You do have a plan besides just leaving home and going to school don't you? Why Hawaii?
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

May 18, 2017, 01:47 PM
    'I am currently a junior in HS, but starting my sophomore year in college through dual enrollment in the fall. I am 16, but will be 17 in October. I live in Colorado, and as soon as I graduate next May, I want to head to Hawaii to continue my education, but my parents are saying I shouldn't go because I'll be too young, even though I'll turn 18 a month into the semester.'

You will be spending your senior year in HS, combined with freshman year in college, at home. You will be 17 this Oct and 18 next Oct, 5 months after you leave home.

I started college when I was 17, and turned 18 in Dec. There was simply no difference to my social maturity from those who were about a year older.