Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pupuliina Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 19, 2017, 02:03 AM
    Problem with understanding qualitative research and work motivation
    Hi,

I'm doing a course of qualitative research methods and for that course we need to submit a research plan. I'm studying work motivation of highly-educated employees in corporate jobs and originally my intent was to study the specific extrinsic and intrinsic motivators by using Herzberg's motivation-hygiene theory as a basis.

However, when I presented this to my professor, he said that my approach is more quentitative than qualitative and I cannot use it for our course. When I tried to ask for reasoning, he simply laughted at me and said that I haven't understood anything from his course then. This was of course very humilieting for me as it happened in front of our whole class so I don't want to discuss about the topic with him anymore. However, I still have a problem as I don't understand why I cannot study extrinsic and intrinsic motivation with qualitative methods... Can someone explain this for me?

Moreover, I might change my topic to focus more on the process theories of motivation. Do you think that I could study motivation processes of highly-educated employees in corporate jobs with interpretive analysis from semi-structured interviews?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 19, 2017, 08:39 AM
    I would say your teacher was being honest. Herzberg's motivation-hygiene theory deals with positive and negative factors within the work place and does not deal with the individual person.

You need to be looking at the social, religious, racial, and other individual factors of each employee and how those factors affect the work place.

What are some qualitative research methods?

The three most common qualitative methods, explained in detail in their respective modules, are