Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nonovelist Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 2, 2016, 07:00 PM
    Overtime or 2 shifts ?
    This scenario pertains to Texas.
    As an hourly manager, I am entitled to overtime. However, at the end of the month, on a Sunday I perform the inventory duty. This is a 10-hour shift that starts at 4 pm and ends at 2 am. I start the shift with 32 hours for the week and expect to add the 10 hours Sunday shift to have 42 hours with 2 hours of overtime. This is not the case. My manager states that the last 2 hours are part of the next week's schedule and not eligible for overtime.
    While this may not sound ethical, it may be legal since the pay period ends at 11:59 on Sunday. I am looking for specific sources in FLSA or any other government case, ruling, or document that states an agreement or repudiation of this scenario.
    Please keep in mind I am asking for sources for a citation. Going to HR is also an option on my list along with other forms of seeking advice. I want to keep this at the lowest level, if at all possible.
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Oct 2, 2016, 07:30 PM
    Those 2 hours are into the next weeks pay period if the pay week starts at 00:01 am Sunday and ends 12:00 Saturday at midnight. There doesn't HAVE to be a ruling..if that's when the pay week runs...thats when the pay week runs. Its been that way in the Civilian world and the Several government contracts I've been part of for 35 years.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 2, 2016, 07:49 PM
    Smoothy is correct. Overtime hours are counted during the work week. If the workweek ends during a shift the hours go towards the next week. So how many hours did you work the following week?
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Oct 2, 2016, 09:04 PM
    What is your pay period?