Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sery Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 23, 2016, 02:09 AM
    How Do I Mention About Change In Field Of Career On Cover Letter?
    I graduated with an interior design degree a year back and then I had a late realization and decided to shift my focus towards graphic design and illustration because that's where I really see myself growing. Now I'm trying to apply for an internship for a graphic design job and was wondering about how I could mention about the field change on the cover letter. Any advice?
    dontknownuthin Posts: 2,910, Reputation: 751
    Ultra Member

Sep 23, 2016, 02:58 PM
    If you just graduated a year ago, you don't have a career yet to change. You have decided to change your focus but do you have education related to your intended new career? Interior design and graphic design have as much in common as cats and pickles. An interior design degree will not be very relevant to graphic design. Yes, both are design but graphic design requires knowledge of sales and marketing and media, print processes, types and fonts, papers, web design and many other things that are not related at all to interior design.

Are you in school to pursue a new degree?

As for how to explain it - I wouldn't unless you get an interview, but your resume needs to show that you have some relevant knowledge and are doing something with your schooling to shift your focus.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Sep 23, 2016, 04:30 PM
    Hopefully some of your education transfers to graphic design! Specifically in types of software you used. That's what it's all about these days.
    I imagine that having a small portfolio of designs would be more than half of your resume, even if some of them are interiors.