Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    clancytoo Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 21, 2016, 03:30 PM
    Memory aide for taking medicines
    Hello, this is my first time requesting and am a new member, so please be gentle.

What would a circuit (12V or lower, battery driven) look like for a simple device to help me remember that I have already, or not taken my medicines for the day? Could be a single LED that is actuated by a press-button switch to show that I have taken my medicines. However, could it also contain a feature that turns the light off after some time (say midnight, the start of a new day) so that it resets itself after a significant time as I may forget to turn the light off manually? This seems to require a clock of some kind or a time delay feature within the circuit. And yes, I know there are plastic enclosures, alarm clocks, spouses, etc to accomplish the same thing, but I have a phobia for plastic enclosures, hate the sound of alarms and my spouse cannot remember any better than I can.

Would be nice if I could just insert the circuit between the batteries and the light in a flashlight, thereby minimizing the need for basic supplies like a container, battery holder, light, switches, etc.

Your help would be appreciated and please inform me if money has to change hands.

Clancy
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Aug 21, 2016, 05:31 PM
    Better to get over the phobia for plasitc, because short of your own private live in nurse... its the most foolproof and reliable thing you can have.
    ma0641 Posts: 15,675, Reputation: 1012
    Uber Member

Aug 21, 2016, 06:28 PM
    Google "pill boxes with notification". Looks like there are quite a few.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Aug 22, 2016, 02:32 PM
    A weekly pill box (totally manual) plus a daily one that fits in your pocket. A watch with a timer that beeps times of day.

Electronics break, and power goes out.