Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sery Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jun 30, 2016, 05:29 AM
    Career Confusion
    I studied interior design but I no longer want to pursue a career in that field because I think I would be of better use in the graphic design field, specifically doing illustrations. I haven't worked in any design firm(worked other jobs) after graduating and it's almost been a year and a half.
    Been trying to figure out what I really wanted to do so spend self learning illustrator, photoshop and free hand drawing, I have very little material to show to people since I just started and I'm doubtful weather I'll get to do an internship in a graphic design firm and because of the fear of rejection I haven't even tried because even internships have such high crieterias.
    Since I don''t know much about how even an illustration firm works, all I'm doing is finding projects that interests me and completing it.

Should I just go look for a job in an interior design firm for money and pursue a masters in illustration? (which again is doubtful because I have very little material to show) Or just continue doing what I'm doing.. do fake projects in the name of creating a portfolio and eventually look for an internship?
    Also I don't seem to find any companies that do just illustrations from where I am. What do I do? I could reallly use some advice.
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Jun 30, 2016, 06:35 AM
    Tough field to find work in, harder to find work that pays well, Nobody I know that got degrees in that field, and started in that field, are still in that field. However there ARE people making a living in it so there are SOME jobs.

You'll never get any internship or jobs if you don't try and apply for them. Nobody will come looking for you to offer you anything. Rejection is part of life. It can't be avoided.