Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    AllyDee1 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jun 9, 2016, 11:38 AM
    What causes cash discrepancies and what reasons can a cashier be fired for?
    I am new to cashiering and I would like to do a good job at it. Could you list in bullet points as many causes of cash register overages and shortages as possible and as many reasons as possible for a cashier to be fired please? Much appreciated.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Jun 9, 2016, 02:30 PM
    No bullets from me.
    TWO major categories (assuming the cash drawer is correct when you start): cashier error and short change artists.
    Cashier error depends on various factors, including whether or not the change to be given is calculated for you, how well you see both the number screen and the money, how well you count, and how easily distracted you get, especially if someone starts talking to you, or you hear someone mention a number.

When new, it doesn't hurt to fan out the bills in the change and announce the amount, and then announce the coin amount (handed out without counting though).

No way to give advice about what gets a cashier fired. Each employer is different. Some have a formula and some play it by ear, giving more leeway when you are new.
    You can be sure that they know when it's deliberate, because they know what the typical accidental discrepancies are like.
    With modern registers, there is NO REASON to be off more than a dollar a week.