Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MCpoodle Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 30, 2016, 05:29 AM
    Simplest way to get started investing in stocks?
    So I've never invested before, after a few searches I get recommended (given my preferences) to a discount brokerage site like Scottrade. Scottrade makes me nervous, the whole idea of putting my social security number into my home computer makes me nervous, and I've never done it before. Is Scottrade safe? And is it safe to put my social security number into my computer? Also is there a chain or somewhere I could go to invest in stocks face to face with a discount broker?
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Mar 30, 2016, 06:10 AM
    A brick and mortar broker can't possibly be 'discount.'
    There are two kinds of safety online: that of the company you are dealing with, and your personal attentiveness and knowledge.
    I can say 'all the well known online brokers have very good encryption,' but that statement is only good for a day. We never know when someone will come up with a new way to break their code. It's a calculated risk. I take it.
    I pay very close attention to personal safety online, and that mainly means long, diverse passwords, and never ever clicking on a dubious link, or email, or app. But even then, if someone wants to break in to my computer and take it over, they can. I operate on the notion that they aren't interested in me particularly, and that such hijacks are currently not done on a mass scale.

As for your SSN and credit card info, these days most if not all companies have software that makes the info inaccessible to employees, except for the last 4 digits.